I think I broke my AE86

Swooki
Club4AG Enthusiast

I think I broke my AE86

Postby Swooki » Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:30 pm

Hello so I have a 1985 Toyota Corolla GTS.

I am new to the car scene and I was swapping out the green coolant for the red one when i remembered my friend suggested that I should put the water hose down from the top hose and water come out the bottom hose... But I realized that wouldn't that crack the block if the engine was hot... I did it like 3 times........

1) My car is not overheating but i see more white smoke coming out? (Smells like gasish and just exhaust) didnt really smell anything sweet. (Cars been warm already so many times and even when i took the video. Why is there still white smoke coming out? and when I rev it, more smokes comes out.
Link: https://youtu.be/JKlZh_d-1zI

2) I checked oil cap and i saw a little milky things (cars been warmed up so many times prior for flushing) so I cleaned it off and I put it back. After driving for 20minutes I checked again and there was nothing(good sign?)

3) dipstick for oil is fine too. It looks clean. Just changed oil yesterday.

davew7
Club4AG Expert

Re: I think I broke my AE86

Postby davew7 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:10 am

Yupper the old head gasket trick!!!
I would not drive it until it fixed. There a good chance that you can screw up the head sealing surfaces. Buy an OEM or a good after market head gasket such as a Fel-Pro. Do not cheap out on a head gasket. The rest of the gaskets in a kit should not really matter. You might also want to look at a new timing belt [check condition before ordering parts] while you at it. If this is your first time removing the head, put paint marks on your cam pulleys, crank and belt after setting the engine to TDC on number 1 cylinder. Dave W7

Jeonsah
Club4AG Expert

Postby Jeonsah » Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:52 am