AW11 engine management

FrgtnKnt

AW11 engine management

Postby FrgtnKnt » Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:17 am

Looking for some info as to what kind of engine management I should run in my AW11. I am planning on my build to be in the 250-300HP range. Was looking at AEM standalones but I see alot of people running megasquirt. Anyway can someone help me or point me in the right direction.

yoshimitsuspeed
Club4AG MASTER

Re: AW11 engine management

Postby yoshimitsuspeed » Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:21 pm

The biggest thing I can tell you is do as much research as you can. I can tell you a little bit but I am far from an expert here.
Megasquirt is incredibly capable but it will likely take a lot more work to get it to do the things you want. Adding a feature might involve modding the board or adding components to be able to do it then setting it up and tuning it.

With something like an AEM system it's much more likely you will just hook up a new sensor, feature, module etc and start playing with it.
MS has a lot of open source and community support.
AEM has good community support plus professional tech support should you need it.

Rogue-AE95
Club4AG Expert

Postby Rogue-AE95 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:09 pm

There's also the option of running a chipped Honda ECU. I've seen pics of an AW11 running one, with the Honda dizzy mounted to the exhaust cam gear bolt. I don't have an AW11 (someday!) so I don't know how much room you have in that engine bay compared to the AE92/5. But the other placement choice for the Honda ECU is mated to an adapter on the stock (16v) 4A-GE location. I'm thinking about going this route because there's a larger Honda scene in my area, and more Honda ECU tuners out here. I would only need someone to get a Honda dizzy onto a 4A-GE dizzy for me.
'88 Corolla All-Trac x2 (manual, auto)

yoshimitsuspeed
Club4AG MASTER

Postby yoshimitsuspeed » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:28 pm